2023 Board Director Nominations

The Nominating Committee of the Board consisting of Frederico Asuncion, Robert Kawahara and Edwin Okubo submit the following Board of Directors nominees for the 2023 Annual Meeting election: 

» Rhonda Loo has been a member of Maui County FCU since 1997. She is a graduate of Baldwin High School and received a bachelor's degree in business administration from the University of Oregon. Rhonda was employed by the County of Maui as Deputy Prosecuting Attorney and ascended to the District Court bench. She became the first woman to serve as a 2nd Circuit Court judge when she was appointed to the position by then-Gov. Neil Abercrombie in 2011 and served as a judge for 24 years until she retired in 2021. She shares that she would like to contribute to the Credit Union 'ohana by providing her legal skills and background in assisting members in achieving their financial goals. 

» Richelle Lu has been a member of Maui County FCU since 1986. Born in Hilo and raised on Maui, Richelle is a Maui High School graduate who received her bachelor's degree from UH Manoa as well as her law degree from the William S. Richardson School of Law. Richelle currently works for the Department of the Corporation Counsel for the County of Maui. In her spare time, Richelle enjoys spending time with her husband and three children. Richelle would like to serve as a board member because Maui County FCU is such an important, trusted part of our community. As a long time member, she is interested in making sure organization continues to provide the excellent services it is known to offer in the same friendly, warm manner people have come to appreciate and expect. 

» Glenn Okimoto has been a member of Maui County FCU since 1970. He graduated from the University of Hawaii with a bachelor's degree in Business Administration. Glenn has worked as a bookkeeper, Office Audit Supervisor, Auditor, and most recently as Labor Programs Field Manager with the State of Hawaii Department of Labor and Industrial Relations. He was a member of the Maui County FCU Supervisory Committee for four and a half years of which he served as Chairman for three years. Glenn would like to help Maui County FCU members by using his skills and experience to assist with planning, directing, and implementing operational functions for future growth.

» Karen Oura has been a member of Maui County FCU since 1983. She is a graduate of Lahainaluna High School. She attended the Iowa Methodist School of Nursing and Drake University, and holds a Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Hawaii at Manoa. Prior to her retirement a few years ago, Karen served as Maui Memorial Medical Center’s Chief Clinical Executive. Karen recognizes the value of teamwork and enjoys working with people. She wants to contribute to the community and the members of the Credit Union by serving as a volunteer to represent their interests.

Interested members may submit their nomination by petition signed by at least 1% of membership. The election will not be conducted by ballot and there will be no nominations from the floor when the number of nominees equals the number of positions to be filled. Petition and forms are available at any branch. Election will be conducted by vote of members at the Annual Meeting on March 9, 2023. Deadline to submit nominations is November 9, 2022, at 4:30 p.m HST.