locationIcon emailIcon phoneIcon
(808) 244 7968
Credit Card Log In
page header image

$15,000 in Scholarships Awarded to Maui Students to Further Their Education

Wailuku, Maui, Hawaii [July 27, 2020] — Maui County Federal Credit Union (FCU) awarded 15 Maui County students $1,000 scholarships each towards their college education. Since inception of its scholarship program in 2002, Maui County FCU has awarded scholarships totaling $237,000. This year’s scholarship recipients are Joanna Marie Acosta, David Advincula, Kamran Bhattacharya, Kaitlyn Evans, Taylor Ganer, Malino Jacinto, Braydon Kaiama, Nikolas Kron, Shanel Mangaoang, Cassidy Matsuda, Mindy Montalvo, Taylor Morita, Kamalei Nemoto, Emi Sakumoto, and Keana Varner.

“We are proud be able to continue this 19-year tradition of supporting Maui County’s students in their endeavors to further their education and achieving their dreams”, states Gary Fukuroku, Maui County FCU President/CEO. “We are fortunate to play a role in helping grow Maui’s future leaders in a diversity of fields. This year’s recipients are pursuing a wide variety of majors from education and engineering to finance and environmental outreach.”

Scholarship recipient, Joanna Marie Acosta who is currently attending the University of Nevada, Las Vegas, and has plans to pursue a career as a Certified Public Accountant, shares “By awarding me the Maui County FCU Scholarship, you have lightened my financial burden, which allows me to focus more on the most important aspect of school, learning. Your generosity has inspired me to help others and give back to the community. I hope that one day, I will be able to help students achieve their goals just as you have helped me.”